Ok, tell me how to use a Motorcycle jack. - VTXOA

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-26-2007, 11:37 AM Thread Starter

Ok, tell me how to use a Motorcycle jack.

I got a sears motorcycle jack for Christmas. I have never used one before and would like to know the proper procedure for lifting the bike. Do I put something under the kick stand to put the bike in a more vertical position? Jack for the right side (opposite the kick stand side) of the bike ? Do it use straps..yada..yada...yada?

Thanks

06 Candy Black Cherry 1300C with Foots Mod, Chrome rims, final, and swingarm.........and a lot more.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 27 (permalink) Old 12-26-2007, 11:53 AM

Which jack did you get? The reason I ask is that some jacks won't slide under the X without some kind of blocks under the wheels to lift it up enough for the jack to slide under. If it is the red jack from Sears, I think I used a couple of 2x6s to get the jack under, if it is the aluminum yellow one from Sears it slides right under. What I usually do is put the jack under the bike just far enough back to gain access to the oil filter and make sure all my drain plugs are clear. Then I put one ratchet tie on it just in case going from the lifting part of the jack over the transfer case between the jugs and then back down to the jack. Do not attach your tie down to the bottom part of the jack that does not move, it will break your tie and whack you with the broken strap, just don't ask me how I know.

I jack mine up the first few pumps sitting on the bike off the kickstand, until it steadies on the jack frame I set on it just in case, once it centers up and stand up by itself I dismount and then jack it up the rest of the way.