Honda VTX Forum banner

Rattling noise at certain rpms

4K views 26 replies 11 participants last post by  vtox 
#1 ·
I've noticed that at certain rpm on my vtx 1800 it makes a rattling noise on the right side. Kinda like a fender is loose. I've checked the fenders.everything is tight. Had anybody had an experience with this. My bike is a 2002 vtx 1800 s with about 12,000 miles on it. Thanks foe any help.

#3 ·
Look at exhaust possibly touching the floorboards on your S model.

#4 ·
Thanks, I'll check those things out. It's seems to come from the lower engine tranny area.also noticed oil on the backside of the back cylinder. There's a hose there that comes out of the cylinder, I've checked to see if it's leaking, doesn't appear to be, I'm still learning about the bike only had it for a couple months.I've got the clymer repair manual, but it doesn't say anything about that. I'm pretty mechanically inclined, hvac service tech and have had bikes before but not since before I got did the family thing.not that the kids are grown I'm getting back into it. Hate taking it into the stealership if I can take care of it myself. Thanks for any help.

#10 ·
I know exactly what you are talking about as my 1800 has the same sound when I really get on the throttle. It sounds like a hard metal rattle, like ball bearings being rattled in a tin can! It only makes the sound when I really get on it. I have never found the origination of the noise and since I rarely nail the throttle I haven't heard it in quite a while.

#14 ·
My low-speed rattle is my rear shocks. Usually happens around 25/30MPH and sometimes on the interstate at 75/80. If I reach back, I can feel them resonating. Looking for a fix when I get time that doesn't involve buying replacement shocks.. lol.

#17 ·