Help!!! VTX is Sick - Idles Rough - Missing - Runs Hot - Loss of Power - VTXOA

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 05-13-2011, 09:45 PM Thread Starter

Help!!! VTX is Sick - Idles Rough - Missing - Runs Hot - Loss of Power

Ok I posted this up on the VTXCafe. Im kinda new to the VTXOA, but I need some help, grab your ....

PLEASE READ THE WHOLE POST, I KNOW ITS LONG BUT THE INFO SHOULD HELP.
  • I dont need to hear "check the ECM wires". This issue is beyond the obvious disconnected wire. If it is a wire and/or the ECM its not that obvious.

Ok I think the most important thing to note is that all of the problems are intermittent, they come and go with no apparent correlation. When I bought the bike it had 30,000 miles and was bone stock besides slip on exhaust, engine lighting, and alarm.

Some days it runs perfect, absolutely perfect. And some days it doesn't. And I cant figure out why. You win if you can help.

The Symptoms:
  • Idles rough, not terrible just uneven. The exhaust hits a rhythm for a few beats then misses.
  • Engine vibrates more (the girls love it, I dont), its not convulsing just like its out of sync and slightly unbalanced.
  • Engine feels like its missing, or weak has weak spark.
  • Runs hot shortly after the idle starts acting up. Temp light doesnt pop on, just noticeably hotter. Fan pops on constantly at lights.
  • Take off isn't smooth, doesn't bog down, more like its fighting to move, lacks power.
  • Each gear feels shorter, it bogs down at the bottom of the gear and I have to shift earlier than I normally would.
  • The top end lacks power. Doesnt bog down, slowly fights to increase speed.
  • The symptoms almost seem like a burnt or stuck exhaust valve (to give you an idea, dont think this is the problem).
  • It always starts easy, doesn't need choke (since scar), never dies. Just doesn't run right.

The Intermittent Part
: