vtx 1300 vs v-star 1300
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: vtx 1300 vs v-star 1300

Default vtx 1300 vs v-star 1300

At first I was thinking about a Yamaha v-star 1300 because I once had a v-star 650 and I liked it pretty good. So I went to the Yamaha dealer and sat on one. I was really suprised. It was top heavy and bulky feeling. I am 5'7". Also it was way too tall. Also the Yamaha dealer was asking more than MSRP. Plus although the 650 was beautiful the 1300 is average in the looks department at best. (IMHO) Also the 08's have a problem with their clutch.
    Then I went to the honda dealer... When I sat on a vtx I was totally suprised how light it felt considering it weighs 675 pounds. Plus the seat was really low and I could reach the ground super well. Also it is totally beautiful. Plus they were selling brand new 07's for 7500 which is like 3000 dollars less than the v-star. When I started riding the vtx I was glad to discover that it handles better than any bike I have ever been on. It is nimble and easy to control and is perfectly balanced. I like the shaft drive better than the belt on the star.... but I must admit that the fuel injection would be nice. All in all I definately made the right decision. Do you think the v star has any advantages over the vtx? How about gearing speed and power? Has anyone ever ridden one? Just curious. John.

2. Remove Advertisements
    VTXOA.com
    Advertisements

Just curious...you test rode the VTX, but not the Yamaha? Then you purchased the VTX, not the Yamaha? Sounds like you made the right choice, that being the bike you wanted. Ride on!

The Star is unquestionably a great bike as is the VTX. Very tightly screwed together. I test rode one and it felt like a much bigger bike. As I was upgrading from an Aero 750, financing with Honda was a breeze so that's the way I went.
    Godzilla