Drag Specialties Tachometer problem
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Drag Specialties Tachometer problem

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Drag Specialties Tachometer problem

    Hi all,

    Got my '03 VTX1800C a couple months ago, looks like this is the weekend it comes out of storage This is my first post on the board.

    I installed a Drag Specialties tach last week (with the help of this board - thanks!) and I'm having a wierd problem. The tach reads 1/2 of the proper RPMs. I hit the rev limiter at an indicated 2500.

    Any thoughts? Faulty tach, wiring mistake? The label on the tach was wrong, so I had to make some assumptions about wiring (can't remember which went to which now).

    Any help is greatly appreciated!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    VTXOA.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    289

    Default

    You need a Compufire Tach Adapter. It doubles the rpm's on single fire ignitions. My tach came with one. If you do a search you will find lots of info on it.
    used to have 03 VTX1800C

  4. #3
    Senior Member JAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Carpentersville, Il
    Posts
    569

    Default

    1800's have single fire ignition, need
    http://www.hondadirectlineusa.com/vtx/p ... =998527887

    illini_bri, question, do you have any needle bounce at idle?
    Might get doubled with tach adapter. Think it's unavoidable with
    Drag tachs due to single fire ignition & adapter.
    I had major bounce at idle with Barons tach (& tach adapter).
    Smoothed out at about 2Krpm. Couldn't handle the bounce at
    idle and I went to an Autometer, hardly any bounce at idle.

    JT

    Jim: 04 VTX1800R spec 3, Candy Black Cherry, Hondaline windshield/
    saddle bags/backrest, Mustang Seat
    1 1/2 fatty hwy bars, hwy pegs,
    Cyclecraft Tach, Breakaway, Chrome tips.

  5. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Baytown,Texas
    Posts
    39

    Default Tach adapter

    I used a Compufire #60-3295 on mine . Had the same problem.

  6. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    yeah, I do have quite a bit of needle bounce. I'm still deciding if I can live with it.

    thanks all your help!

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Manchester, Mo
    Posts
    191

    Default tach

    I also use an autometer tach, no needle jump at all. I may be wrong,but I thought when I call them they told me the vtx1800 has a 1/2 pulse. honda dealer couldn't even tell that.If you cant get any help search for the autometer site and call them, they do have the right parts.
    03 1800C, Chrome wheels, Tach,MTC clutch,mustang 3 pc seat, progressive shocks, power commander-dyno tuned w/sideburner pipe,1300 FINAL DRIVE,HID light,Odessy dry cell battery, stainless cables.
    It's what Florida's all about

+ Reply to Thread

Quick Reply Quick Reply

Register Now

Please enter the name by which you would like to log-in and be known on this site.
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.

Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Posting Permissions

  • You may post new threads
  • You may post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •