Honda VTX Forum banner

Self canceling turn signals

5K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  chuck_VTX F 
#1 ·
Hey gentlemen, Has anyone installed the Smart Turn signal System on their VTX? And if so... How do you like it? Is it worth the money?

#2 ·
Perhaps. I have no experience with it. But after a lifetime of riding Hondas with the exception of my last two bikes, I still check everytime I use my signals even though they self-cancel. Old habits die hard. So if you've been riding for decades you might find that the money you spend is unnecessary if you too check them everytime anyway. :)

#3 · (Edited)
Several VTX owners have placed Leds on the windshield facing them.
They are wired to the TS wires.
Chet's Rattlebars had several schematics about using a piezo unit to scream at you lest you forget to turn them off.
One version used the brake light to keep the piezo quiet except for the time when brakes were on.

I looked at the Smart TSS and found a place that stated it would not work on MC with Manual push to cancel.
I saw it several days ago, I have not found it since.

Installation manual shows the foam to insert to keep the switch from being latched.
Looks like Honda switch shown.
https://safer-turn.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/09/STS_install_manual_ENv3.pdf

Some have used a Kisan signal minder ...

#4 ·
Self Canceling Turn Signals

I have installed them on my 1800S and also on my Honda Magna.
They work surprisingly well. The installation is pretty easy. I was able to just raise the gas tank, without removing it all the way to mount the little box. All the wiring is done in the headlight bucket.

You need to open the turn signal switch housing and place two small foam pads inside the switch itself. This keeps the switch from actually latching, when you slide it either left or right. The circuit is activated to begin flashing, but the switch pops back to center position without actually latching.