bike won't shut off - VTXOA

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 43 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 01:39 PM Thread Starter

bike won't shut off

Hey guys and gals I'm new at this, so bare with me. Been owning my 02 vtx C model since 02 and have close to 40,000 miles. About a month ago i was getting ready to ride, but looked at all the clouds here in sunny florida and decided to put it back in the garage, but when i went to shut it off the bike kept wanting to crank even when i turned the key off. I disconnected the battery and left it for a couple of days and then went back and re-connected the battery. Everything must have reset and had no problem until yesterday when it did it again. I tried tapping on the starter and the switch to see if maybe something was stuck and once again I had to disconnect the battery. Can anyone tell me what the heck the problem may be. Much appreciated and ride hard, but safe.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 43 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 01:52 PM

My guess is your starter switch may be fried

[SIGPIC]https://www.vtxoa.com/forums/picture.php?albumid=211&pictureid=950[/SIGPIC]
post #3 of 43 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 02:11 PM

The solenoid switch is bad. It's located behind the left side cover.
SNUSH

[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
I don't sweat the petty things,But I do pet the sweaty things.

post #4 of 43 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 03:19 PM

Yep. starter solenoid. replace with Honda for $$$$ or pull old one and go to NAPA or AutoZone or similar and match up one from a lawn tractor.

PGR - LA State Captain - 03 1800 Retro, red, Mustang seats, ISO grips, V & H Bigshots, de-smog and Pair block by Bareass, eng. guards, CW sissy bar and luggage rack, HitchDoc trailer hitch, 9/30/07 new Quadzilla fairing, 5/13/11 Darkside GYTT and HID headlight.
post #5 of 43 (permalink) Old 07-13-2009, 04:21 PM

Don't assume that the push button switch on the handle bar is good.

Check it with a tester before u put it all back together.