2006 VTX 1300 Vibrations? - VTXOA
 4Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 32 (permalink) Old 07-16-2019, 11:31 PM Thread Starter

2006 VTX 1300 Vibrations?

Tried to post this earlier to no avail but it seems to be working now. Anyhoo...

So I'm fairly new to riding and definitely new to a vtwin. Bought this bike off a navy seal friend of mine. Very well cared for with only 16k miles on it. Runs great, starts up in the morning with little effort and in warm weather doesn't even need the choke really. Warms up pretty quick. Engine is fairly smooth but...

At around what I believe to be around 2000ish rpms (no tach so impossible to really tell) I get some fairly mean vibration. Once I hit that "sweet spot" it lasts for maybe 500-700 rpms or so. When cruising with a light hand on the throttle the vibes aren't that noticeable really but they are certainly there. But once I go wide open throttle from a lower rpm range (which I know is lugging it a bit, but I don't want to cruise at 3500+ rpms at all times) the vibes get pretty intense. Mostly felt in the saddle. Its not intensely uncomfortable or anything but I am a bit paranoid about "less than smooth" engine characteristics and I'm not used to a v twin so I want to make sure I catch problems early before they become big problems.

This very well may be the characteristic of the bike. Its got some loud pipes and for all I know the vibes I'm feeling may just be the sound reverberating on the chassis. The mirrors rattle enough to make distant cars indistinguishable for their model when the vibes are at their worst but still plenty visible. Nothing I don't think one would come to expect from a motorcycle with a v twin rumbling. Its just those intense vibes in the seat in that very specific rpm range that has me paranoid.