Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
691 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I need my 600 mile tune up, but I have no money. When my classes are done I will be better off, but for now, im broke and my X is my only transportation. What should I do? Talked to a serveice shop, over 200 for a tune up. Can I just do everything myself, and then just have the valve adjusted? I want to go for a ride right now but shiiiat. Thanks

·
Registered
464 Posts
First thing I would do is change the oil. See if there is any metal in it. Then ride it for a few more hundred miles then have the inspection when you get your next paycheck.

·
Registered
3,543 Posts
I don't know about a VTX but when I had my Shadow Aero, I went 1100 miles before the first visit. Didn't hurt it at all. BTW, mine is also due for it's break-in service but I can't seem to bring myself to leave it for 2 days! 8)

·
Registered
691 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Well I am a student, so I dont really have a paycheck coming. My first one went 1100 miles too before the first check up. They told me its better to go longer then get ir done too early. Now the question, type of oil??

·
Registered
759 Posts
Well, I did the oilchange on time, but I now have 1200 miles and havn't touched the valves yet. I will get around to it this weekend hopefully as the weather is supposed to be bad so I won't be out riding. I have noticed the valvers are alittle louder than when it was new, but it still runs fine and I'm sure it will be fine as long as I take care of things soon.

BTW, I'm not advocating extended sessions between maint, just telling you my experience.

George

·
Registered
74 Posts
I changed my oil at 550, 1200, 2500 and then I rolled into my Honda dealer and said "Here I am for my 600 mile valve adjustment"..I had 2950 on her at the time and she ran like a top, no noise, etc. When I got her out from the valve adjustment they said only one valve was a little tight but rest were ok....

NR8X :shock:

·