Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, newbie here !!! I wonder if you could offer me some advice ? I have a 2004 VTX1300S Retro (Spoked wheels) and am starting on a journey to customize it.

I have recently installed some Baron xtreme bars which look and feel great and have now purchased (but no installed) an 1800F rear 18” x 5.5”wheel witha 200/50/18 Metz tire and then just purchased a RC Hole shot 21” x 3.5 front wheel (Both wheels not installed on bike yet). Before I start the Foots mod or install the front wheel I really need advice on the rake. I really like the look of the 8 degree rake with 3 inch fork extensions and 10.5 rear lower shocks but before I purchase and install I need the bike to be safe from a trail numbers perspective. I am no trail numbers expert !:yikes:

Will this set up be safe is the question ? If yes, great Im going to buy the 8 degrees ! If no, are 7 degree rakes available and is that safe ? I know many will tell me go for 6 but im looking for the 8 degree look but know that im not going to end up slaiding down the highway on my a*s

Oh, also, can I use my fork chrome covers that are on the 1300R after install raked trees ? :doorag:

I really appreciate your help and advice folks.

View attachment 92518

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
welcome to the board from Texas. with a 21 inch front wheel and fork extensions with the rear end lowered you will be fine with an 8* rake if thats what you choose. however i'm not sure if your fork covers will be long enough for that much of extensions . my bike is a c model and doesn't have the covers .but i'm sure others will chime in and let you know on that.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3