Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts
J

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've only got 120 miles on my brand new '05 1300 Retro but I'm kinda disappointed in it. I traded in a Suzuki Volusia on the 1300. So far I'm not impressed with the 'get up and go" of the 1300 - not noticably quicker than the Volusia. Plus, when I use the front brake I get kinda a grinding sound and the engine makes a lot of noises I'm not used to from a bike. I won't even go into finding nuetral after I've stopped.

Am I just overreacting and things will get better when I get more miles on the bike or is there possibly something wrong. I'm not a newbie, I've been riding bikes on and off for a long time.

·
Registered
4,139 Posts
they do have some noises i grant you that, :p
it is new and you are breaking it in.
but i don't understand the stop finding neutral :?
plus my front disc are not grinding or anything
out of the ordinary.

i'd take her by the dealers or if you got a bud
in a bike shop.

i'm super pleased , hell i opted away a
HD 2004 fatboy for my 1300R. :p
plus saving 8 grant was added incentive :wink:

·
Registered
3,531 Posts
That sounds like break in noise prolly. Give her a thousand miles, and switch to synthetic oil asap. 8)

·
Registered
229 Posts
I had the volusia before the X also. Big improvment. The X is way more bike in my opinion. Much better on top end. Give it time, it will grow on you.

·
Registered
5,558 Posts
If I were him I would sell it fast and go get another zuki.

·
Registered
289 Posts
disapointed?

granted my bike is heavily modified, but my uncle has a volusia, and i hardley ever ride w/him b/c if i'm behind him i almost run over him and when he's behind me forget about not even close and he's an experianced rider.

·
Registered
550 Posts