Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I know that's how car insurance works but let's say I want to buy a bike and take it for a ride. Am I covered by my own insurance policy?

·
Registered
2,482 Posts
Everyone can say yes you are, but it only matters what the insurance company says. If it is the same as your car insurance, you could logically think yes they would.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
157 Posts
Please call your insurance company..

I am now a retired mechanic .. but I had add-on insurance...
for any car or motorcycle I drove/rode was covered..
just in case my employer had poor coverage on me as an employee.

·
Registered
1,486 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
AS Chuck said; Call Your Agent! What anyone here THINKS is inconsequential.
Very true. What I have never figured out is whether the policy covers the driver or the vehicle. I have heard both. That's why when you rent a car, you can use your own insurance and decline theirs. But then I know of cases where the children got into an accident driving their parent's car and insurance covered it, although it was the policy holder who got dinged.

·
Registered
1,150 Posts
Very true. What I have never figured out is whether the policy covers the driver or the vehicle. I have heard both. That's why when you rent a car, you can use your own insurance and decline theirs. But then I know of cases where the children got into an accident driving their parent's car and insurance covered it, although it was the policy holder who got dinged.
Call progressive and ask, toll free number. Why try to guess? Progressive helped me when i recently called, good company. :)

·
Premium Member
6,801 Posts
The owner of the bike insures the bike and if owner gives you permission to ride it it's on them.
Up here it's quite common for the bike owner to have the test rider sign a waiver, and retain ID and car keys until the bike is returned. The waiver includes 2 things;