Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
engine noise vtx 1800

ok im new to the vtx 1800 but have had an 1100 sabre for a while I bought the vtx 1800r about 2 months ago ive put about 400 miles on the only thing ive done is cobra pipes I did the ground mod and changrd fluids sunday Ive scoured this board looming for possible resolutions to my issiu but thought I would just post. Went for a ride saturday night started bike let it warm up daughter jumped on rode to the lake about 80 miles total. When I pulled into the garage bike still running pulled my helmet off heard louder than usual ding da da ding ................da ding ding ding best u can describe it. Upper front jug maybe but resonates to rear hard to tell does not go up and down with motor rpm and pretty much gone past idle. Its kind of like a louder version of your pipes pinging when they cool down. Shut it off started it up yesterday morning whisper quiet when cold but comes on as it warmes up rode it around no loss in power and dont really notice it with helmet on but it is there and I know it was not there on thursday im concerned I already had the desmog and valve adjustment planned. The guy I bought it from has no idea when valves were adjusted last ive never been right next to any other 1800 to listen to so I cant compare I dont know if its valves or this decompression lobe thing ive heard of I know I dont have the cash to do a tear down right now looking for the issue. Or if ill damage it or destroy it if I keep riding it its disheartning I would be the lucky one to have an issue as these engines seem to be honda tough oh 33000 miles. Thanks for any input ive done the obvious check exhaust flanges they are tight shields tight headlight quiet so im not sure what to do now. Thanks.

·
Registered
16,072 Posts