Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So what we have here is a failureto communicate somewhere. I have rode for years but never worked on these myself. The issue i am having is almost like a dead cylinder. This is a 2004 vtx1300. As far as i know everything is still factory. I took it to Rock Hill Powersports in SC and after 3 months and $1000 its still the same. I can pull the front right plug wire loose and increase the spark jump which seems to smooth out the engine. Where do we start to figure this out? Remember i am new at working on bikes.. Im a diesel mechanic.
Thanks

·
Registered
2,070 Posts
I’d start with the common electrical ground at the front coil. Also common to have
Broken wires internally at the ECM... need to shake them around with the bike running.
Beyond that.....what’s the history of the bike. Sounds like you just got it.
You probably should have a conversation with the service manager if it’s still the same after a thousand bucks. Can you tell us what they did?

·
Old Goat
25,126 Posts
Man I wish u the best of luck...I’m assuming u didnt get dinner...:mad:

·
Registered
1,904 Posts
So what we have here is a failureto communicate somewhere. I have rode for years but never worked on these myself. The issue i am having is almost like a dead cylinder. This is a 2004 vtx1300. As far as i know everything is still factory. I took it to Rock Hill Powersports in SC and after 3 months and $1000 its still the same. I can pull the front right plug wire loose and increase the spark jump which seems to smooth out the engine.

Where do we start to figure this out?

Remember i am new at working on bikes.. Im a diesel mechanic.
Thanks
I would try swapping the coils.

Diesel mech...... Respect!

·
Registered
11,699 Posts