Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off HELLO everybody newbie here. I just got my 1300c about a month ago since that time i've logged about 300 miles on it and it has never ran right. It idles fine it goes through the motions fine but when you accelerate hard it sputters and drops. Anything below half throttle is just fine. Also when you hold it at around 25 it sputters slightly doesn't do it at around say 45mph. If i full throttle off a light it gets to higher rpm and stutters so i shift and it accelerates hard again tell higher rpm, same on freeway going 70 i wot and it just stays at 70 and pops. I've pulled plugs they were solid black so changed them to correct gap and have ran about 3 tanks with seafoam through it. Also im only getting 32 mpg and i know that's because of this problem. Ive made sure that the choke is all the way in and also pulled the carb to see what bowl looks like it was clean no residue. Factory jets. Stock air box. Stock exhaust but does have the holes drilled in tail pipe "clayton" mode i believe. I got the glens d tool permanent mount cable and installed to 2 1/2 made bike run worse on full throttle load. Interesting things to point out is there is a hose on petcock side of carb that has regular radiator clamp on it so i'm assuming its been messed with before. Also there was a hole drilled on the very bottom of air box by the drain hose hole. And then i noticed today that the small hose that hooks on back of air box there is white gummy looking stuff oozing out of it. And another thing that i find odd is that when i choke the bike on start i keep my hand on it so after it starts i immediately start pushing it in to not foul plugs. but as soon as bike cranks i get a gush of fuel on my hand from petcock. Sorry this is so long of a story i am trying to be to cover everything.

·
Registered
12,066 Posts
Welcome to the addiction! :mrgreen: