Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Have a question regarding the Cobra Tachometer on my bike. I just bought my '07 last week, and it had the tachometer installed prior to my purchase. When I start the bike up, it lights up as it should, but the needle does not move when I rev the engine. Upon further inspection the green wire looks like it split apart. I am guessing this is what controls the tach portion. Should I just splice back together (not sure if wire is long enough, which is why it may have split). If the wire is too short, can I add more wire to it?

Also I purchased a K&N air filter and now have seen various people say that I may need to do something with the jets? I am a noob to motorcycles I must say, but have a fair working understanding of car engines.

Thanks for your time!

·
Registered
666 Posts
I'm pretty sure the currently avail Cobra Tachs dont work right on the VTX 1300. Older Cobras may work on it.

I had to lengthen the wire that goes to the coil on my aftermarket tach and on the Cobra on my last bike.
Had a Cobra on my 2011 VT750 and it didnt work right on my VTX 1300, different ignition systems.

Here's how a Tach gets wired:

·
Old Goat
24,406 Posts
U know I tried the K$N ..was too much work for me...I bought a case of OEM..and as mentioned no need to rejet unless u open the air box...now go ride the damn thing... (y)

·
Registered
666 Posts
U know I tried the K$N ..was too much work for me...I bought a case of OEM..and as mentioned no need to rejet unless u open the air box...now go ride the damn thing... (y)
Trick on the K&N is to get two filters so one is always clean and ready to be oiled an installed, no down time.
I notice improved performance with a K&N.

·
Old Goat
24,406 Posts
Trick on the K&N is to get two filters so one is always clean and ready to be oiled an installed, no down time.