Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am in my final year of Mechanical Engineering and our Senior Project has to be something that we can build and show that it works. We will design it, do all the calculations (i.e. heat transfer, materials properties analysis, etc.), build it and then we will have to show that it has a snowball's chance in hell of selling (or at least, that is one of the major criteria used in picking a winner). I will have an entire year that has to be filled with this project. I thought about a supercharger, but the more I read on this board, the less I think it is feasible. I only have 1 VTX and I can't afford to blow the engine :shock: or damage it in any way. I also thought of taking on the gas tank project. Beyond that, I am stuck. I am quite capable of handling the academics of engineering, but I am totally and completely uncreative. Help guys......I need ideas.....

Tim

I am not looking for something to put me into business for myself, just want to spend a year working on my bike, while getting college credit for it.

·
Registered
3,616 Posts
How about a hidden cooling system. Some mechanical requirements (mounting and vibration analysis), heat transfer and fluid dynamics.

H

·
0 Posts
Take the front air scoop that is on the bottom of the Kawasaki ZX12 triple tree (I think that is the model) and figure out a way to put ducted ram air on the VTX.

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hal @ Honda Direct Line said:
Take the front air scoop that is on the bottom of the Kawasaki ZX12 triple tree (I think that is the model) and figure out a way to put ducted ram air on the VTX.
maybe out of carbon fiber........I have access to "scrap"......hehe

·
Registered
360 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
bluto said:
How about a hidden cooling system. Some mechanical requirements (mounting and vibration analysis), heat transfer and fluid dynamics.