Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm about to purchase a 2005 vtx 1800 3000 miles the guy never road it. I was wondering if anybody is using any waterless coolant given the fact the bike only has 3000 miles and has been sitting I will be changing all the fluids anyhow. any suggestions as to what I should use? Also hyper charge or not? is it worth it.

Thanks

·
Registered
783 Posts
I'm sure a post like this will probably end up a lot like a favorite oil thread. Use good antifreeze and follow the directions. There was a problem with silicate components of some antifreeze damaging the seals. Look for "Silicate Free" in the description. Some folks will tell you that you MUST dilute antifreeze 50/50 with water. I really don't know and I've been pouring it in straight since 1973. That could have been what turned my hair silver. I don't know. Never hurt a car and it surely never froze.

Edit: I didn't see the hypercharger question. Don't waste your money unless you really like the way it looks. It's eye candy. Purely for looks, and a profit. We could debate all day on whether it really adds any horsepower but if it does there's no real way to measure it. On a dyno, the bike is standing still. With a properly maintained 1.8 Liter motorcycle engine you have a huge quantity of horsepower more than is needed.

·
Registered
2,558 Posts
I use Prestone, but as Beezer said - any quality anti-freeze will do the trick. As far as Hyper-Charging.... in my humble opinion, the bike is strong enough as it is. Sounds like you got a GREAT deal on the bike. Last year I picked up my 2007 1800T - with 528 miles on it. Go figure...........

·
Registered
228 Posts
Antifreeze & Hyper Charger