Honda VTX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ride is a 2004 Honda VTX1300C, I have been using the K &N oil filter for the past 9 years. My question is, is Fram filter better, if so why, and will it fit properly. I've heard they are longer. Appreciate the feedback. Thanks, Steve.

·
Registered
14,476 Posts
One of our forum members used Fram oil filters.
One premium Fram does not have cardboard end cap.
I have not used a Fram in my 1300C.
I have used many Purolator filters > automotive filters,
PL14612, L14612

·
Old Goat
26,941 Posts
I like Bosch 3323…its longer …but they are getting hard to come by locally….Im gonna try the pictured filter….same characteristics /specificactions as the Bosch….good luck on your choice…
Light Product Camera lens Font Automotive tire

Reactions: rangers4u

·
Old Goat
26,941 Posts
Search for a 2000 Honda Civic filter. In whatever brand you want. They are longer, but still fit.
The one pictured fits my 2005 civic.I used the 3323 on my civic,my goldwing and my vtx…lol

·
Registered
82 Posts
Ride is a 2004 Honda VTX1300C, I have been using the K &N oil filter for the past 9 years. My question is, is Fram filter better, if so why, and will it fit properly. I've heard they are longer. Appreciate the feedback. Thanks, Steve.
As far as the question "is Fram better" well, they are both quality filters. I was using K&N for a couple of years, then switched to the Fram XG6607. It is just as well constructed, is rated to 99% efficiency, and is under 9 bucks on Amazon.

·
Registered
2009 Honda VTX1300C
5,519 Posts
Just a note to say that the majority of the automotive oil filters have the end caps redesigned from concave to convex.

I don't know if this is an issue for a Honda motorcycle but it is for Yamaha and some Kawasaki motorcycles.