Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Driving to work this morning I hit a gigantic dog in my Tiburon. Was gonna bring the X today but I dropped it off at my buddies shop last night so I can put on my new VH Bigshots which came in yesterday. Was gonna put em on last night but the old pipes were too hot and we didn't want to wait for them to cool off, seeing that it was after 7pm and we both had to be at work this morning. I'm a paramedic and have worked countless bike crashes and if I had been on the X I know it would have been bad, so remember y'all, someone is watching out for you.

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Nope, he is dog dead. He looked to be a rot or something close to that size. He ran into me from the shoulder and was he moving. All I saw was a blurr then the impact. Got poop on the front and rear fenders and there is hair in the weight in the rear tire.

·
Registered
653 Posts
There you go, loud pipes saves lives, and they weren't even installed yet.
Now that's protection.

·
Registered
146 Posts
I'm glad to hear you are alright.

I remember back in '82 as a 16 year old when I had my first Honda, an MB5, I took the MSF course and they taught us to run straight over any small animals, I would hope I would have an 'out' available to swerve if I was on a path of intersection with a large animal. I also know it is my responsibiltiy to allow enough space for an out, just in case something as unexpected as what happened to you happens to me, on a motorcycle, as I'm sure you would have done, had you been on your X
Here in western Massachusetts a car hit a Moose on the Mass Pike a few months ago, and it was fatal to the driver.

You speak the truth about someone watching out for us, I did some crazy stuff as a teenager on sport bikes... and I'm just grateful I'm alive today to be a 40 year old riding around on my VTX.

Respectfully,

David

·
Registered
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·