Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, I purchased a 2005 1300 R few weeks ago (first bike). I just noticed a hose hanging down by the exhaust. See attached pictures. I followed the hose and pulled it up. Looks like it attached to the bottom of the gas tank. There is also a T adapter, looks like maybe another hose is supposed to connect to it. Maybe related but bike is popping big time on decel. Other than that bike runs great. I put at least 250 miles on it so hose can't be that important.. lol.

See attached pictures. I'm a noob and just figured out how to take seat off so keep that in mind.

Attachments

·
Registered
11,558 Posts
It is the fuel tank vent hose and the "T" is open. In case you are riding on a flooded road the open T will provide air.. Stock exhaust or aftermarket exhaust??? Check all vacuum hoses, they tend to crack on the interior wall.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Where should the hose go? Right now it’s hanging two inches below pipes. Should i cut some off?
After market hardchrome double d pipes. Previous owner says it was jetted but does not know what kit was used. Popping is bad. I was going to replace crush gaskets then Re-jet to fix popping. Bike also has hypercharger. thought? And thank you!

·
Registered
11,558 Posts
Do the hypercharger butterflies move? Hypercharger rubber hose is poor quality, some have broken off. I have my vent hose tucked into the swingarm.

·
Registered
865 Posts
You may have what is an incompletely desmogged ride. Similar to the one I have.

·
Registered
755 Posts
My tank vent hose hangs down like that always has on my 07 vtx 1300r . guess you could trim off a few inches if you wanted . I can confirm there is no hose on one of the t ends . I blocked the open t off once and bike died when riding in the rain . eo

·
Old Goat
25,002 Posts
Leave the hose length alone....keeps gas off the bike in case of a tip over..or expansion

·
Registered