Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I got a REALLY good deal on a fairly complete Rushmore street glide fairing. It didn't include gauges, stereo, mounting brackets or the headlight (I got a daymaker knock off instead).
I'm a tool and die machinist so fabbing up everything to mount it wasn't an issue.

My problem is risers and bars. Can I go with 1" risers and taller bagger bars without contacting the tank? The fairing is way too high using my boulevard windshield clamps to mount it so it clears the factory riser. If I use the Memphis Shades clamps I had from my previous X, the height is perfect but I'd need 1" risers and approximately 10" bagger bars. I found some Harley meathooks with spacing that will work for Honda risers but I would like to know if the 1" riser/bar combo would work on the X or if I'm going to have to figure out something with the stock risers.

I'd like to get this part of my project completed so I can move on to fitting the Indian chieftain bags I picked up. I will also post pictures and measurements once I figure out the height situation in to hopefully help out anyone else who wants to give this a go.

update: I figured it out. I can offset the fairing 3/4” to get it into the position I want with the factory risers. Pics will be added later IF my headlight ever comes in. You pretty much have to use the HD headlight with the Rushmore fairing unless you want to mount to the forks under the lower tree.

Any help is greatly appreciated

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 · (Edited)

The Harley headlight finally got delivered (two weeks late. Thanks USPS.). I got the fairing mounted and I think the fairing itself looks good, but I don’t like the side profile without bagger bars. I’m hoping to have a slow night at work tonight to make some 1.7” straight risers to mount some meathooks.