Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
543 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just pulled my V&H Bigshots (Retro model), pulled one stud with the acorn nut attached, and I read all of the posts on this and related problems. I think the stud/acorn nut combo is lousy, so I decided to replace the combo with S/S allen head bolts (someone else's recommendation -- can't remember who). Previous threads, however, didn't answer my Q"s below:

Q1: The stock studs are 8mm x 25mm. Is there any reason why using the same size allen bolt won't work, with or without the use of washers to ensure proper depth, i.e., 8mm x 25mm allen bolt?

Q2: Is there any problem with using S/S bolts in the Al heads, even with the use of high temp never-seize? If so, are there any problems using chromed bolts instead, w/ or w/o never-seize?

Q3: Would you recommend using "button head" allen or standard allen head bolts?

Sorry if the answers are obvious. I'm a rank beginner wrencher and I'm doing my best to learn from scratch.

Thanks,
Steve

·
Super Moderator
63,857 Posts
The problem you may run into is bottoming out that bolt before you tighten the exhaust. Just get new studs and some stainless nuts(not acorn) and a washer to use. Never have to worry about bottoming anything out that way. 8)

But , yes, doing that would work if the bottoming out doesn't happen again.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Dr. Reid,