Honda VTX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys,

I just spent the whole afternoon reading about AMSOIL. So now I want to buy it and change all my oils on my 600 mile change. So I called the stealer and they said I would void my warranty and I would not break my motorcycle in properly. I am not a mechanic nor an expert, I just want the very best for my VTX. So ask all you pros out there, is it too early to run AMSOIL on my 600 mile service? If so when should I run it? I dont trust the advice from the stealers :evil: so please advise me! I'm taking a trip from orlando to miami after I ship my bike from boston, MA on may 20 so I want my bike in top notch condition. Also what are the mile intervals for AMSOIL oil change...6k? Thanks guys in advance.....
Also sorry for bringing up a subject that was probably beaten to death!

Very frustrated VTX owner :(

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
by the way

I have a black 2005 1300R :roll:

·
Super Moderator
64,384 Posts
They can not void your warranty for using a different oil. AMSOIL is rated better than the Honda oil, so it's better. Use it, many are and don't worry what they say. It's not like they can taste the difference, see the difference. 8)

·
Registered
1,268 Posts
opinions will vary
I had my dealer change mine over at the 600 mile service.
Mercedes, BMW M series, Corvettes, Vipers, Maserati, Ferari, Porsche, Astin Martin and on and on ALL come with synthetic from the factory.
Do what you feel comfortable with.
Spencer :twisted:

·
Super Moderator
64,384 Posts