Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2008 VTX 1300 R
Whether choked or not, it sputters when starting up (regardless of temp), runs fine after 2-3 miles. If I stop on a ride to take a break, and fire it back up after a 10-15 min break, it sputters and dies, then runs fine after a minute or so.
I have Cobra Classic slash cuts and a K&N filter (just filter, no "kit"). No other modifications.
Called my local dealer as bike is still under warranty, and he said Carb issues do not fall under the original 1 year warranty. He suggested dumping in some Marvel Mystery oil and 93 octane fuel. No luck, did not change a thing.
Bike ran fine all the way from last June to this past February (when I had to use a bit more choke in the morning).
Have read in forums that an A/F screw adjustment is needed, but I am new to this.
How close are the recommended settings of "2 1/2 turns" given my setup?
Have pulled the plugs and they are not totally shot, but a bit fouled. What is a good cleaning method? Or should I just replace them? If replacing, should I go stock, (NGK-DCPR 6 E) or is there a better brand or type? Please provide a link for them if different.
Regarding A/F setting, if environment makes a difference, I live in Florida and weather is generally mild year round. 80% of my driving is city streets.
If you have any pictures showing locations of the screw, please fwd a link.
If anyone out there has been through this or a similar situation and can provide a bit of info, I would greatly appreciate it.
:confused:

·
Registered
513 Posts
Try the plugs first .... Champion RA8HC

Your stealer has no idea what octane rating is. This is a low compression engine and designed to run on regular. Octane rating is the resistance to knock. All ratings have approximately the same amount of energy in BTUs. So you gain nothing by running a fuel designed for a high compression engine.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3