Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Newbie here with very little mechanical knowledge so bare with me!

I have purchased a custom VTX1300 and I am having problems getting it to run correctly.

When I first purchased it I noticed that I would need the choke pulled out slightly otherwise it would cough and splutter when riding it whether it was hot or cold. It seemed as if when accelerating it would bog down and need more acceleration to pull through.

I took it to the garage where my mechanic cleaned the carbs, a little seafoam and hoped and preyed it would be okay.

This didn't change anything so we ended up changing the spark plugs and spark caps which still didn't improve things.

After this we then increased the main jets. My mechanic rode out for 2-3 miles and had no problems so at this point I went back to get the bike. At first no problems at all it ran really well. I went through town at lower speeds and all of a sudden it started coughing a spluttering again but this time it was a lot worse than the first time (I didn't think I was going to make it back home!).

I took it back to my mechanic who rode it and broke down 8 times during the journey but luckily got back in the end.

It just so happens that my mechanics bike was doing something very similar and it turned out that his generator was going to earth when the engine got hot so he thought this could be the problem that my bike was having.

He sent the generator away and just as he thought they confirmed this was the case so it was rebuilt and sent back.

My mechanic fitted it back to the bike, took it on 2 long test rides and all was good, finally it was running well.

My father then collected the bike from my mechanic and got it home (3 miles) absolutely fine.

Since then I took it out myself and within 2 minutes it started doing the exact same thing again. I got my dad to test it out and he confirmed it was definitely still there.