Honda VTX Forum banner
1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello - Newbie here,

I just picked up a Candy Apple Red 2002 VTX 1800R last saturday with 3600 miles - hypercharged and 3 inch aftermarket pipes. I have been riding a 750 Shadow - many what an upgrade. I am 6'4 and always felt the Shadow was too small, but it was a way to be on the road.

The Shadow is now going to my wife - she is taking the Safety class this weekend and should be licensed with a few weeks, but she is going back and forth on the idea of riding. She has been doing a lot of parking lot practicing and some slow back roading - Plus she rode dirt bikes until she was 12 and from what I have seen I feel very confident in her abilities.

Any advice that would help calm her fears?

She is hearing the normal - You are going to die - its so irresponsible and so on.

Did I mention I LOVE the VTX.

Thanks,
Rob

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Very nice - I love the Illusion Blue.

I figure that if she get riding, the bug will bite her. Her Dad has been riding for 35 years, his brothers 8 of them all ride - all Harley's, plus two of them own a custom bike shop - Cool City Customs here in Portland.

Its quite a site to see when just the family goes out for a cruise together. I was proud to ride with them on the Shadow, but did fall behind at times due to the horsepower and torque issues, but I dont think I will have any problems with that now - not even with the V- Rods.

I cant wait till the wife and I can take a nice cruise to Lake Michigan.

·
Registered
1,897 Posts
My wife has been riding for 5+ years now and loves it.
She rides a 02 Spirit 750 she purchased it new and now has over 14,500K

·
Registered
622 Posts
Well, we're not married (yet), but my gf of 3 1/2 yrs rides her own bike. It's one of the things that got me to fall for her. Her sister and her mom ride, too!

·
Registered
886 Posts