Honda VTX Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First of all,this is a great,informative site! I bought a new 06 VTX 1300s about two months ago, and have had a `rap` or knock on acceleration since I drove it off the stealer`s lot. By all I have read here,it seems that this is normal.I have let the dealer`s tech ride it, and he says that nothing sounds unusual.I am a auto tech by trade,and if I heard thid noise in something with four wheels it would be torn apart for inspection.I guess what I am looking for is some reassurance that this should not become a problem when the warranty runs out. I switched to Amzoil at 2500 miles.Shifts better now. Nice running bike,just a bit concerned about the noise.Thanks in advance for your responses.

·
Sith Lord
4,919 Posts
Some is normal. But no two I've ever rode sounded the same either.

Since you're an auto tech you could easily check the valve clearance yourself just to be sure. Plenty of "how to" instructions on the tech.vtxoa.com

It might just put your mind at ease to check them. Did the dealer do the first vavle adjustment at 600miles or did you?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I adjusted the valves at 600 mi. They were all slightly tight.ait`s not a valve type `tick`, I have a bit of that,but that`s good.

·
Sith Lord
4,919 Posts
I know these engines are a bit noisy but I've yet to hear one in the shop or with the groups I ride with here have anything like what you're mentioning.

Do you have more than one dealer in your area? Since it's under warranty still I wouldn't want to tear into it that far. But trying a different dealer or even talking to the service manager might net something.

Sounds kinda like a lower end knock? Like a bad main bearing on a Chevy V8?

It's under acceleration only? What grade gas are you using? Book says 87, but if it's knocking it wouldn't hurt to go up a grade or change brands.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·