Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
383 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello gentlemen,

I'm a new forum member from Europe. A proud 2007 VTX 1300 Spokes owner, despite the annoying NOISE issues that this great motorcycle has given me and which I'd like to report here and ask you all for help. I will also post pictures soon so you see all the things I've done to this bike, but right now I urgently need help with the noises that I'm getting from my American-made beauty.

This forum has been my lifesaver with this bike as the mechanics where I live are complete amateurs when it comes to heavy weight cruisers. I've almost given up on this bike, only to spend hours reading this forum to find a solution. I'm new to getting my hands dirty with motorcycles, and I've learned so much thanks to you folks! I'd like to join discussions in this forum as I've done so many things to this bike (except engine/carb mods) that I'm happy to talk about the VTX 1300 all day!

Here are the NOISE issues that are driving me crazy and making me consider selling the bike. I don't want to sell the bike but I just don't enjoy riding this bike anymore due to the noises. It's a long post, so please let me know if you'd prefer a briefer explanation of these sounds.

Noise number 1:

The headlight makes the most-annoying buzzing sound. I've taped the inside with several layers of electrician's tape. I've also covered the tab at the bottom of the headlight casing that inserts the casing back into the nacelle (I also used electrician's tape to cover the tab and cushion it). I even went as far as to buy a new lightbar! I had the NC lightbar, so I got the BBP lightbar in case it was the lightbar. Nope, it's isolated to the main headlight that keeps vibrating and making a loud vibrating buzzing noise.