Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Registered
1,485 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a new pair of boots that I have not worn much because the toes are too thick to get under the gear shift pedal of my VTX1300C. You would think there is a way to adjust the pedal up just a bit but I am not touching it until I know what I am doing.

·
Old Goat
25,112 Posts
Follow the linkage....Pull the rear cover should be a splined shaft that u can reposition the linkage....at least u can on a R..should be the same....good luck

·
Registered
7,157 Posts
ALL the shift linkages are the same, the rod fits over a splined shaft coming out of the case. Just use a Sharpie to mark where it was, then move it a tooth or 2 to where you want it. I had the same issue when I got my Tourmaster riding boots. Wasn't enough clearance between my engine guard and the shifter to get my toe in w/o missing shifts.

·
Registered
9,675 Posts
tried and true.. Honda has been doing the above linkage since the early 1960's

:)

·
Registered
7,157 Posts

·
Registered
11,693 Posts
You can do fine adjustments with the linkage, or on the shifter shaft.
My new boots were higher so the shift would not return to the center.
#7 is a Left hand thread. #14 is standard Right hand thread.
Loosen nuts, turn the rod #11 a slight amount, snug nuts and see if it works.
May want to use a ruler to see where it is at from the ground and add 1/4" or 3/8" up.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,146 Posts
Yes!

Behind the plastic left engine cover there is a long threaded rod. On each end of the rod is a locknut. This rod is threaded at both ends, the rear of the rod is threaded opposite of normal, this way when the rod is rotated (once lock nuts are loosened) it either raises or lowers the shift pedal height.

So it's... cover off, lock nuts loosened, rod rotated (either up or down), lock nuts tightened, cover replaced.

Good luck, but you wont need it, it's easy peasy..:D

·
Old Goat
25,112 Posts