Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got my VTX1300C over the summer, and now that its winter, I've decided to take advantage of my time and do some work. I already did the hole-saw mod a couple weeks after I got the bike. I also just recently ordered an Arlen Ness Big Sucker air kit (because it was a heck of a deal) and it should be here soon.

My question is, is anyone running a set up like this one (air intake and hole-saw mod)?

If so, what do you recommend for jetting? I have heard a lot of people do the "scar" mod (i think its called) but I dont know much about that. Would that be something to look into?

I'm a newbie with the VTX, but im pretty handy so any ideas or advice would be great so i can get started.

Thanks!

·
Registered
347 Posts
Whatever type tuning you do you want to do it on a mild day around 70 degrees. If you do it in the winter it will run like you know what in the summer. If it were me I'd buy a tuning kit and follow the procedure to get it running like a scald cat. It only takes a little bit more to go first class.

·
Registered
3,587 Posts
hole saw mod is nothing now since the new intake is going to replace it.

get a factory pro kit on the way and read the directions several times before you start.

·
Registered
1,664 Posts
:agree: with above i did it with FP stage 3 and never regret good luck :mrgreen: . Plus I wish you Welcome to the VTXOA :popcorn:

·
Registered
3,907 Posts
Welcome to the VTXOA from the southeast corner of NC.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Whatever type tuning you do you want to do it on a mild day around 70 degrees. If you do it in the winter it will run like you know what in the summer. If it were me I'd buy a tuning kit and follow the procedure to get it running like a scald cat. It only takes a little bit more to go first class.
We got a shop thats climate controlled, so Im not too worried about the winter.

·
Registered
16 Posts