Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi,
I'm a 31 year old Mexican-American dude. I've always wanted a bike just never took the leap. Well last year it presented itself and I supposed I jumped. I bought a smaller bike (500cc) and from that one i leaped to a 2003 VTX 1800C. Quite a leap I know but I couldnt be happier. The bike was a forgotten relic when i bought it and now i have it looking good again imagejpeg_0(3).jpg 20210411_142518.jpg 20210411_142544.jpg imagejpeg_0(2).jpg but im not done with it though as I wanna put rims on it and might also paint it afterwards. I am still an amateur, I just completed 6 moths of riding lol.
That being said I was looking for people around my age in Southern Alabama or anywhere near the South who would like to go riding most people I know dont have a bike and the ones that do well lets just say theres a huge age gap. Attached are pics of before and after. Cheers,
-Enrique

·
Registered
983 Posts
Congrats on joining the X club. First things first ,respect the 1800 it's big,powerful and fast. Don't ever think you got it wipped ! I would not ignore the 'old guys', they probally have a wealth of info. that can give you on the bike including upkeep on do's and dont's. They just might have a few extra parts you could use...for free. As far as the old guys, you won't find a better bunch of guys!

·
Registered
12,610 Posts
Hello Enrique, welcome to the VTXOA!
You did a great job of restoring your VTX.

You want to put "rims" on it, aka spoke wheels??
A nail in a tire/tube with spoke rim/wheel is usually a quick deflation.
You can seal the the spoke nuts.
We are a bunch of old farts for the most part.
Young guys got married , had children and sold the X.
Alabama had a online meetup forum group for all type MC.
That died and another took it's place. I has been a few years.
Best to review the Alabama board to see if you can find it.
Southern Alabama, near what city?