Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6,188 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Took my truck to the dealer to find out why my radio was not receiving stations on my radio. My truck is little over a year old. So the service manager calls me back to where the mechanic found the problem. Never thought it would be that. So he had the hood open took his light and showed me inside the cowl under where my radio antenna was. Firs there was insulation pulled out and the cable was chewed through. He thought the mice did it at first but I said I have squirrels running around and they might of chewed through it. So far the cable is 47 dollars and time to replace it is 2 to 5 hrs.. So can mice chew through a hard coax cable or would it be the squirrels:frown:

·
Registered
5,357 Posts
Mice can chew through a cinder block! Some coax is nothing.

·
Senior Pirate
7,720 Posts
I’m not an expert on either although I’ve never heard of squirrels chewing things. I may be wrong.

But, I do know first hand that large rats can get into a hole about 1/2” diameter, chew through 16 gauge insulated stranded copper wire, and like to eat Burger King ketchup. I discovered this when the fuel sender on my boat quit working and I traced it to the chewed wire under a deck hatch that only had a finger sized opening. The rats skull, some fur and an opened ketchup packet was all that was left. I guess the fast food did him in.

·
Registered
1,550 Posts
I used to have flower boxes on the rails of my back deck until the squirrels ate the plants out of them & then started eating the plastic flower boxes. That was the end to flowers on the deck. Remember, squirrels are rats with fluffy tails!

·
Registered
981 Posts
Around these parts we call squirrels tree rats, and yes they will eat anything including a Sweet Gum tree's seeds. Indestructible round balls about the size of a golf ball.

·
Old Goat
24,200 Posts