Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Honda VTX 1800 C
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I’m a newbie but I can’t believe how poor the mileage is with my new beast. I filled it up yesterday right to the top and by the time I hit 70 miles on the trip meter the fuel light came on. I’ve read some other threads that it’s all in the wrist. I get that but still that’s not even 25 mpg! It’s not like I’m doing burnouts, why is it so lousy where I can’t even ride 100 miles on 3 gallons? I emailed the previous owner asking him if that fuel light could be trusted, and I’m waiting to hear back but I fear I’m only getting about 23 mpg, and that can’t be right, can it? This weekend I’m going to pick up the stock exhaust, which the previous owner has and I plan on putting it on because, well, the decibel level with those cobras is pretty obnoxious, even though I like them. I’m guessing I’ll have to re-map the power commander and not sure how it’s going to run with the stock exhaust, but do you think maybe that way I can get closer to 30 MPG? Thanks for your advice.

·
Registered
7 Posts
From what I've read and experienced myself and read in different forums, the VTX's fluctuate bike to bike on MPGs but tend to average 30-40 depending on configuration and rider. Poor mileage could be a bad tune, could be something like the fuel pressure regulator (16740-MCH-013), or something simple like bad plugs. I'd start by doing a full tune-up on the bike. You never know what condition anything is in until you start to really tear it apart and get into it. I highly recommend going through and reading this site: Motorcycle Tech Pages there's tons of useful knowledge there that you should definitely check out. When I first got my 03 I read it like a bible. It made it so I knew the bike inside and out before even picking up a wrench.

·
Old Goat
25,850 Posts
I’m told They all do pretty good going down hill.....good luck... (y) (y)...forgive me slow morning..

·