Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looks to me like you got a pretty good deal on that bike. She looks good too. You are going to appreciate that Mustang seat overt the stocker. The stock seats on these bikes were pretty bad for most people.

Keep a close eye on those tires. Even stored for 4-5 years they get old and hard. They will start to degrade over time. I can't stress how important reliable tires are on a bike. Most importantly Brian, ride safe and enjoy the many many years of enjoyment these bikes can offer. If your youngun is keen on going for a ride, I can highly recommend spending as much time on the bike together as possible. When the youngster is old enough, you may have a riding partner on their own bike. My son and I have been riding together now since he was 9 (so 11 years now), and on his own bike for the last 2 years. It's time together I would not give up for anything.
Hello,
be careful with the tires when I bought my VTX 1800 the tires were a bit old, in each roundabout at acceleration I had small slips, the engine has a lot of torque and that does not really forgive.
I quickly changed the 2 tires

good road (y)(y)(y)

translation by google
Check the DOT date code on the tire.
Anything over 5-6 years should be replaced.
week/year 23/14 = 23rd week/ 2014
1300 medium power, 1800 is high power!

Add additional lighting to be seen! Safety...
I checked out the date on my tires and it looks like I’ll be adding new tires to the list of stuff to get. The date on the back one is 1013. It has a lot of tread but man that’s an old tire. I’m going to get the size and shop around for the best price. Does everyone have a favorite place to buy tires online?

I moved this thread from New Member Introductions. I hope that’s ok. Here is the link New member from PA if anyone is interested in reading back.

·
Premium Member
5,635 Posts