Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
To all, for your candid comments... I am considering buying a new '03 1800 from the dealer so that my wife and I can tour around. The dealer has the 03's on the floor with <25 miles for $8,999. Fully dressed (to my needs), and with freight/title/tags, it will cost $12,000. I would like to get your opinions as to whether the 1800 is a good bike for late-40-somethings to tour around (about 5-7000 miles per year) and if you were starting out again from the beginning, would you have started with the 1800?

I have several years experience but we have just a very little experience on 2 person riding.

Chris

·
Registered
653 Posts
Seriously? The question sounds like someone is asking for a compliment. Yes, the bike is for you. Ride for a while without her to knock the rust off your skills.
Teach her how to be a good passenger. There's a skill set involved, for her and you.
Get David Hough's book Proficient Motorcycling. read it cover to cover twice. It costs $25, its worth $250. Really. Do it! Online Whitehorse Press. Other places too.
Join the HRCA (Honda Riders Club of America) frre the first year with your purchase. There's a $75 discount toward the Motor Scooter School. There are lots of other benefits which make it cheaper to belong, than not to.
Good Luck and good riding. Now just try to wipe that silly smile off your face. HA! We can't either.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
No, this is a serious post. I just ordered the book, thank you ($14.49 on Half.com). I appreciate your comments.

Chris

·
Registered
653 Posts
wecolme

Well, then. you're already ahead of where I was, because you know about this board.
The Tech board has a lot of good information, but don't let the "problems" scare you. By FAR, everybody's bike works fine. I've decided to keep mine mostly stock. 02 "C". There are some very good add-ons depending on your personal tastes and useage.