Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
86 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How long should one wait before you begin waxing a new bike.? Also, what is the absolute best wax to use? (I'll bet that question will stir up several opinions).

·
Registered
353 Posts
I'd wait until I got it home

You probably can't get much waxing done at red lights on the way home from the dealer. Just joshing you!! Opinions are like you-know-whats, everybody's got one and they all stink!!

Hard to beat Honda Cleaner and Polish in the black aerosol can. At least that will be OK until something better comes along. I use that and Kit Bike Clean. There are probably better waxes, but these two are easy to use and do a pretty good job shining up a bike.

·
Registered
22 Posts
I'm not a expert but I've been around show cars all my life and have always used Meguires, they have always made my black paint shine well. Understand there's wax..and there's polish...wax will apply a coat of protection while polish will offer great shine without protection. Wax a paint job everyday and you'll get some build-up, polish too much and your paint may suffer due to no protection. I immediatley put a coat of wax on my paint and chrome the day I got it home (especially waxed the frame areas that take most abuse from rocks and road dirt) Between waxes I use the "spray n shine" (Mothers or Meguires) for quick detailing...I never use window cleaner due to ammonia (some say it won't hurt but the "sparay-n-shines" do the same job so why risk it) An important thing to consider (especially for black) is to remove all dust before you wax or polish..if you don't, your pushing dust around and adding fine scratches..I use a california duster to rid dust first...or you can wash your bike and the best cloth to use while washing is a chamois...use one for the wash and a seperate one for the drying...make sure they're both always clean. If I had to suggest one wax...it's Meguires Tech Wax...goes on easy comes off