Honda VTX Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all-

Well, I am still a newbie so I have continued questions about my 05 Retro. First, thanks to everyone on this board for the excellent info.

The weather has finally broke here in East Central Ohio, and I have not been on travel for work so I was able to put the first serious miles on my bike yesterday. I went on a short 60 mile trip and on the way back the bike shut off 5 times!

I called the stealer and they asked if there was gas in it...duh! Of course there is gas in it, I put gas in it when it only had like 15 miles on it (130 now)...it should be fine I said.

The guy was real nice an seemed to know what he was talking about. He told me to put it on reserve and then ride it and put gas in it. Sure enough, that worked....ok, now that I feel like a moron here are my questions:

1. I was told not to fill the gas up past the neck inside the tank. Correct? Why??
2. The stealer told me the main gas is fed through a line sticking up from the bottom of the tank and the length of that line (basically how far it sticks up inside the tank) veries. Once you switch to reserve, the reserve line is shorter, hence able to get more gas out of a tank. Is there a way to shorten that line to get more out of a tank?
3. When I put gas in the tank, I put it in just above that neck line (about 3.4 gallons). Does this seem correct for a fill up, or do I put more in??

Well, I think that's all. Thanks in advance for the help.

Later,
-E

·
Registered
740 Posts