Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to motorcycles that have a On/off reserve switch. My last bike didn't have one. I just reset the trip mileage after every fill-up and knew how far I could go before needing gas. As I just purchased a 2009 VTX 1300, could someone explain how this works? I did some searching and research already, but I am a picture guy. I learn best by seeing pictures and I'm unable to find one online.

I understand the gas tank is one tank with two-step drain and I am trying to determine what this means. Correct me if I am wrong but if there is just one tank, the reserve fuel is on the bottom.

1. In order to fill up the entire tank, including reserve, the switch must be set to reserve it seems.

2. If there is just one tank for both the normal setting and reserve setting, would it be possible to just ride with the switch on reserve? I understand once you run out of gas, you would definitely be out of gas. I am just trying to figure out how everything works.

3. A picture would help visual learner like me if anyone as one :)

Best,

Kev

·
Registered
1,754 Posts
Reserve is a low fuel warning for you to start thinking about re-fueling. Start in the regular position with a full tank, somewhere around 130 miles it will start to sputter, switch to reserve, another 15 miles no problem, by 20 miles you should be getting nervous, 25 miles what is your plan b, your mileage may vary. When you fill ALWAYS switch back to the normal position. If you leave with it in reserve position the next time it sputters you are done, there is no reserve to the reserve.

·
Old Goat
26,012 Posts
Most 1300 should average close to 160...google it...

·
Registered
904 Posts