Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this bike. I recently bought it from my cousin a week ago. It hasn't been ridden much in the last year. Just under 20k miles on a 2005 with stock pipes, intake,and carb. Aside from the addition of a windshield it's stock all the way around.
My dad cleaned the carb before I bought it and put in a new battery.
We just did a 175 mile run together and when we were riding I noticed that I couldn't go WOT without running extremely rich and just falling flat on the top end. If I rolled slowly onto the throttle I could keep up with him on his Harley with stock 96ci engine. But I can't for the life of me get on it without flooding out horrendously. If I let off and get back into it I can kind of get past it. But found it best to roll on the throttle slowly and once I'm caught up it's just fine. I just cannot push it past 3/4 throttle or I experience it falling flat on it's face until I let off and roll on slowly. Almost feels like I'm good under 3k Ron and over that it's flooding out.
Today I went back through the carb with a bike mechanic buddy and we checked all the jets. It's got MS195 and 55S jets. Set it at 2.5 turns. Same issue. Tried choking it, tried running without the air cleaner. No effect to see if we can lean it out.
Pulled plug to double check and she's black so it's definitely rich as can be. What did we over look?
Fuel flow is not lacking. But getting the a/f mix at 3/4 to full throttle is eluding me.

Thanks for any input

·
Registered
11,945 Posts
Recently had a 1300 running extremely rich. The Air Cutoff Valve diaphragm had a hole in it. The two screw cover with the vacuum hose.
At the top of the page, "Search community" type in "MR VTX CARB 101" that should give you the link. Here it is>>>

I had a problem with getting up to speed, for me it was the slide diaphragm. Many holes therefore no lift of the slide valve.

Welcome to the VTXOA.

·
Registered