Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
693 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
About 5 years ago I bought my first motorcycle. I didn't know how to ride, didn't know how much to pay, didn't realize how silly I looked on a 600cc, etc.

I had the dealer deliver it to my apartment complex and just hopped on and wobbled down the parking lot until I got comfortable enough to hit the side streets.

I saw someone's tag line here which read "Those who are self-taught have idiots for teachers."

I don't disagree. But four years later I still had not wrecked or even dropped either the 600 Shadow or the 1100 ACE I bought a year after. Then I messed up and sold my ACE for a sports car. I'm back to my senses now.

Anyone self taught with similar luck? Should I still go take a riding course?

·
Registered
332 Posts
everyone is going to tell you to take the msf class. they do show you a lot of good things. i took it when i was 17 and still practice a lot of the things they taught me.

·
Registered
109 Posts
There's always something new to learn, I'd say why not go to the class? They are a lot of fun anyway...get a friend to go with you. If nothing else, it should help lower your insurance for a while.

·
Super Moderator
64,141 Posts
I self taught on an what was called and "Enduro" (street legal dirt bike) when I was 11 years old. I rode off road for 7 years and then took the MSF course when I wanted to ride on the road. I take it every few years now just as a refresher. Do take it, what you learn could save your own life. 8)

·
Registered
408 Posts
self taught