Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, real quick. Bike started running sluggishly yesterday. I checked the ECM wires, all are good. I want to buy a spark plug tester, my question is if the plug is bad and not firing, will the tester still light up? Or do I have to take out the plug?

·
Registered
6,004 Posts
I don't understand. Plug removal is easy enough, and if you're going to just 'go and buy a plug tester', just buy a new plug or several and change them.

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I don't understand. Plug removal is easy enough, and if you're going to just 'go and buy a plug tester', just buy a new plug or several and change them.
Lol. I have the plugs already. I’m just not a mechanical kinda person so if I replace the plugs and it is still rough, I don’t know what to do next. Ok, so I’ll replace plugs first then see. Thank you for your help. I’ll be back.

·
Registered
113 Posts
I had a similar issue and it ended up being the battery. I took a volt meter to it and it showed proper voltage but when I took it to the dealership, they put it on a tester and the tester said replace. After it was replaced, it's been running great again. I changed the plugs prior to taking it and it helped a little but still felt like it was missing ever few rpm.

·
Registered
1,513 Posts
OK, real quick. Bike started running sluggishly yesterday. I checked the ECM wires, all are good. I want to buy a spark plug tester, my question is if the plug is bad and not firing, will the tester still light up? Or do I have to take out the plug?
If one of them won't fire, probably you won't really notice it, but you can test them one by one without a tester. In most caseses a visual check is enough, though.
Before buying a tester, I'd check grunds, battery cables, fuel delivery (because yours a 2nd generation VTX 1800). How many miles on the plugs? If not over 100k, I wouldn't waste any money on replacing them.
Edit: