Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,870 Posts
I am no oil expert, but on my previous ride I would use conventional oil sometimes and full synthetic sometimes, didn't do anything but change from one to the other at oil change time. I wouldn't mix them but IMO using one or the other at different times doesn't hurt anything. Just use a premium brand and the right viscosity.

·
Old Goat
25,615 Posts
Nothing needed for swapping. But why would you want to? Synthetic is objectively a better lubricant in all the real data I’ve ever seen.
THIS.....^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^..

Reactions: chuck_VTX F

·
Premium Member
3,870 Posts
Nothing needed for swapping. But why would you want to? Synthetic is objectively a better lubricant in all the real data I’ve ever seen.
I agree 100% with this. There is nothing wrong with conventional oil but full synthetic is superior, worth it to me. That's all I use in my VTX.

·
Super Moderator
64,002 Posts
NEVER, EVER use an engine flush, these do more harm than good.

After that, you can switch between the 2 anytime you want to. Just change the oil

·
Registered
1,461 Posts
Good answer, Spike, thanks.

Now that the actual question has been answered, there is no need for more interrogation of the OP's choice.
Question answered satisfactorily, close the thread, please. Otherwise it will blow up fast.

·
Registered
1,461 Posts
Funny. Nah, I don't care to censor, this is a free country afterall. Or at least used to be.
I just want to prevent yet another flaming war of synthetic-vs-regular-oil.
Maybe we can prevent it by shifting the topic a little?
So what about LED vs HID bulb for my stock headlight? :)
Or should I go with a car tire on my bike? :D

·
Registered
2,864 Posts