Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a new to me 03 1800 C, very modified BEAST. The hydraulic clutch, position of the bars, distance etc. are all to blame, I'm sure. It's been suggested that I switch out the grips from 2" chrome slip ons to 1" more comfortable grips and consider changing the clutch / break levers back to OEM or something smaller / more rounded. These appear to be pretty flat / wide, we rotated them up so I'm not cutting off the tips of my fingers but it's still a gloves only job! I have a friend who is pretty mechanical and all his ideas sound really expensive, plus the guy who I bought the bike from did such a beautiful job modifying this bike that I'm not sure I should be changing out the handlebars, etc.

Description of my pain: severe strain / pain from below my left ear, down my neck into my shoulder and deltoid is burning. It started about 2 weeks ago and I started riding my VTX about 6 weeks ago. Chiropractor says I need to give it a rest and just ride my Vulcan 900, lift weights to strengthen my back and arm so I can tame that BEAST. I'm a 5'9" woman, not a little person by any means but I'm also not 6'3" like the previous owner. I will add a picture later (at work right now) but you will see that I have forward controls, a fairly straight handlebar just a slight V and a deep low corbin gun fighter seat that keeps me low - so ya all of this keeps me reaching!

Any suggestions are appreciated!
Added pic what do you think? Sell to a 6'+ guy and let him enjoy the beast the way he as created or start spending $$ and what would you do first and least expensive? Chiro Massage Therapist says its my rotator cuff that is causing me the most pain.
1836028.jpg

·
Registered
672 Posts
I would start with some handlebar risers to reduce the reach in you arms while riding. Bring the bars closer to you.

Once you do that, a bakrest might help as well.