Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6,071 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Another forum I'm a member of is asking members to fess up with stories about the times you've been pulled over by cops. I thought it might be an interesting thread, so here goes my confessions (add yours):

For some context, I've been riding for 35 years and most of them involved daily rides to/from work in our very congested Southern California roads and freeways. Having said this, I will also add that during the first five or so years of my riding I had to learn the hard way that even though you can safely go very fast on a motorcycle, the law doesn't like you using your own judgment as to where to do it.

Honestly, I've been ticketed for speeding so many times I've lost count. Almost of them were on freeways and involved hidden cops with radar guns. I clearly recall my first speeding ticket and being amazed that I was going as fast as the cop claimed because I hadn't yet realized a motorcycle engine can sound like it's barely going even though you're blazing down the road at the bikes 'cruising' speed.

Only once was I ever ticketed on a bike for something other than speeding and in that instance I actually saw the cop sitting right there watching me approach the stop sign he said I did a 'California Stop' at. This is where the driver pauses, but doesn't actually come to a full stop. Thing is, I had perfected my balance on my bike by then that I can come to a full stop and then go without putting my feet down. When the cop pulled behind me I remember wondering what he could possible be pulling me over for.