Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So check this out and tell me if this is right. I had tires installed last week and the place hit me for 120 dollars! I have a busy schedule so my dad took it down for me and picked it up. They told him that the VTX F is the hardest bike to do tires on because they had to REMOVE the exhaust. Now im not a mechanic but come on, is this true? Im super frustrated. I think they were mad because I bought the tires on the internet and they want to sell their own. I dont know I just needed to vent that. ugh:banghead:

·
Registered
465 Posts
Exhaust removal must be ref. to the rear axle nut access, but an open end wrench works with exhaust on.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Exhaust removal must be ref. to the rear axle nut access, but an open end wrench works with exhaust on.
Thats what I thought. That SOB

·
Registered
2,014 Posts
My SuperTrapp 2into1 is almost directly in line with the axle nut and VERY close.

I can easily remove mine without removing the exhaust. The dealer is FOS or has a VERY bad selection of tools.

·
Super Moderator
63,943 Posts
Yes, if they want to torque the axle nut to specs, they must be able to get a socket on the nut. Some exhausts need to come off for this

·
Registered
380 Posts
sound like a decent price to me for a wheel removal and tire change - consider that the charge for a wheel in hand change is $30 - add the hour or hour and half it took for labor and you are right there - next time try to pull the rear tire and then remount it yourself and see the work involved...

120 isn't that bad...

·
Registered
72 Posts
Takes all of 2 minutes to remove 2 bolts, loosen the clamp, and slip off the bazooka on my C...

Sorry dude, but any way you look at it, it sucks to get screwed like that.

Iz

·
Registered
594 Posts
Lessons learned