Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I mounted a new set of Shinko 777 on my '05 VTX1300c. Mounting the tires went smoothly (for the most part). When i reinstalled my rear wheel, i said screw it let me put it in gear while in the air. I noticed the tire appears to be out of round, but i'm not sure. There is also a faint noise that sounds like gears. I'm not sure if its normal.

https://www.youtube.com/embed/ug9N_BqSV6c

·
Registered
981 Posts
I'm no expert , but looks to me that the bead of the tire is not correctly seated. The quick shot of the left side is where I think I saw it
Someone will come along and give you more useful information.

·
Registered
2,557 Posts
I'm no expert , but looks to me that the bead of the tire is not correctly seated. The quick shot of the left side is where I think I saw it
Someone will come along and give you more useful information.

I agree. It doesn't appear that the bead is completely seated all the way around. It's enough to hold air, but I think you need to let the air back out and try to re-set that bead again. Of course, you could always have a defective tire, but I couldn't see enough in the video to say for sure. Others will voice their opinion too, but I'm sure you will be able to get this resolved quickly. Good luck.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
@jbrittjr
@Dartanuan

I believe both of you are correct on that. I went to inflate it to 40 psi and i heard a couple of pops as if the bead was seating. It's odd because it looked fine before I mounted the wheel.

Thanks!

·
Registered
10,873 Posts
Did you use some soap+water mix or tire bead lube when you installed the tire?

You can see a line on the tire sidewall, it looks like it disappeared because bead did not seat fully.
There should be a good pop when the bead seats.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #6