Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2003 vtx 1800 with less than 4000 miles on it. I just started riding again recently and i was wondering if its safe on those old tires even though there are not many miles on them.

·
Premium Member
4,191 Posts
At 4000 miles, those are probably the original tires that came on the bike 18 years ago. NO, those tires are not safe. They may have plenty of tread depth but the rubber will crack from age. In 2013 I bought my vtx from the original owner with 8000 miles on it and with the original tires still on it, 10 year old tires then. On close inspection, both tires had small cracks all over. Get some new tires before you go off anywhere on it.

·
Old Goat
26,012 Posts
Yeah get some new tires......u know about the life u save...etc,etc.......good luck

Reactions: rangers4u

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks guys. I was thinking that very thing and needed second opinion. That looks like a real chore to change those. I guess I need to find a good shop to do it.

·
Old Goat
26,012 Posts
Thanks guys. I was thinking that very thing and needed second opinion. That looks like a real chore to change those. I guess I need to find a good shop to do it.
Try and find a mom and pop ....thats what I use here....take the new tires and rims in $86 mounted and balanced....cycle gear does it also....u didnt mention but doing it your self there’s other things u can check while your at it.....good luck

Reactions: rangers4u

·
Super Moderator
64,141 Posts

·
Old Goat
26,012 Posts
I was thinking probably a honda dealer but I guess thats not a sure thing either
If u have to go to the dealer....ask to talk to service manager,,,see how much they know....if u have some place to work and basic tools,,the talent is here on the forum to walk u thru...plenty of utube vids...or there were...good luck

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·