Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, fellow riders. I'm fairly new to riding my vtx 1300. Transitioned from Cbr 1000.
Ok, I think my son turned my key switch to on position and I didn't notice. So battery was completely drained. I used my car to jump my cbr with no problem. Tried to jump my vtx and while trying to start bike, something popped. Battery is holding a charge. So I connected battery back to post and nothing. Turned key to off and on, no lights no nada. I'm thinking I may have messed something up with the electrical system. I read thats possible if car was running but car was not running when I tried to give bike a jump.
Please if you know, if this is something minor or major, cheap or is it a arm and leg. Really I just want to ride. Summer is here. So I'm hoping its something minor.
Also recommendations on shops in Houston area.

Thanks in advance
God Bless

·
Registered
9,642 Posts
Check all fuses, esp. the 2 under the rear of the left side cover. There are 3 there, but one is a spare. They are 30 amp mains. FWIW, I recommend you change ALL the fuses, on both sides of the battery box, with the EZ-ID kind that light up when they pop. Let us know if this got you going.

·
Registered
946 Posts
Using auto jumper cables on a motorcycle may have burned fuses because of too many amps. They do make jumper cables for motorcycles that are rated for lower amperage to jump start a motorcycle. Avoid using auto jumper cables on a motorcycle battery. You could fry something electrical.

·
Registered
436 Posts
You can get one of those little jumper battery pack thingys on amazon or wherever for $40-50. I used one to jump my bike and you can take it with you on trips. Why not have the cbr and the x? I do :)

·
Registered
1,001 Posts