Honda VTX Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all I am no expert. Not having a bike in almost 25 years. So when my wife tells me she is willing to buy me a Harely, Believe me I started looking and reading. So here it is, We can afford a Harley, however, when I look at spending $20,000 for, lets say a Dyna Wide Glide, out the door (this is what my brother paid for his) I am saying to myself, Two Pistons, Two Wheels and Two up for the price of a car? No, I can afford a Rolex watch, yet my Timex works just fine. I looked at all the manufacturers and Honda held my choice the best. Yet still the Harley name had a hold on me TILL I
#1 Rode one... Nice sound and image, yet the vibration was still there.
#2 Talked to Harley owners, one in paticular was a die hard Sposter fan (his bike vibrated so much that it made my decision easy) his bike was new, but his story's left me wondering
#3 Started pricing add on's
So the VTX kept coming up, good reviews, water cooled, drive shaft and add on's to give the machine a more personal touch.

The 1800 was more than I wanted to take on at this time, 1300 was our choice, Since my wife is on the bike as much as me, she choose the Retro, and listening to sound bites she choose the HK2.5's. Since everytime I start the bike up she is there with her helmet ready for a ride, she has alot of say in what goes into the bike. Our comfort is first and foremost, Choose Ultimate Seating for that cure, passenger floor boards (she loves them) Memphis Shades.
I will never race the bike, don't need to. I have Harley friends who tell me they won't ride with a Honda, which I am fine with that since my wife I ride alone most of the time, (My brother has no problem being seen with a honda). I am finding other VTX riders in the area to join up with.. My wife and I wave at all riders regardless of the response we get in return, its not about what you ride, but that you ride....